My Girl

images   My Girl (1991)

Directed By Howard Zieff

Vada (Anna Chlumsky) and Thomas J (Macaulay Culkin) are best friends and they do pretty much everything together, Thomas J loves Vada but Vada is obsessed with her teacher  so much so she takes poetry classes over the summer. Vada is a troubled girl her mom passed away and her dad (Dan Aykroyd) is real busy he runs a funeral home. He hires a new lady named Shelly(Jamie Lee Curtis)  to do the make up for the bodies  and they hit it off. Vadas dad kinda don’t know what to do with her because she is becoming a young women so Shelly helps vada. Thomas J and Vada go to their spot in the woods and Thomas J is stung by bees and he is very allergic and he dies vada go’s crazy and is forced to deal with her grief the the pain of loosing her mother and her best friend she feels responsible for everything but some how with the help of Shelly and her dad she is able to pull though.

I have always liked this movie and my Daughter wanted to watch it the other night and I thought it would be a great movie for the movie blog. This movie is a story of love and friendship and is very touching.

Howard Zeiff did well with this move I looked him up and I don’t think I have seen any of his other movies they are all older movies and he has retired from directing. I actually never knew there was a my girl 2 apparently he retired after that movie was produced I think I will watch it might be good.

One response to “My Girl

  1. Vada was crying due to the death of the character Thomas J. Sennett. However, it could happen in real life. Jack Albertson (Ed Brown) explains about the death of Freddie Prinze (Chico Rodriguez) to Gabriel Melgar (Raul Garcia). Jack told Gabriel, “He died.” But he did not say how he died. After that, the producers decided to cancel the show, “Chico and the Man.”

Leave a Reply

