Safety Not Guaranteed (2012)

 

 

Directed by: Colin Trevorrow

Starring: Aubrey Plaza, Mark Duplass, Jake Johnson

Darius (Aubrey Plaza)  is a young intern at a Seattle-based magazine and jumps at the chance to investigate the author of a classified ad seeking someone to travel back in time with. Along with Jeff (Jake Johnson), the staff writer, and Arnau, a fellow intern, the three go on a road trip to a coastal town. While Jeff just wants to chase after his high school crush and Arnau wants some kind of life experience, Darius spends her time with Kenneth (Mark Duplass), a man who believes that he has built a time machine. The closer they become and the more they understand about each other, the less clear it becomes if Kenneth is just crazy or if he actually is going to successfully travel back in time.

I love Aubrey Plaza from Parks and Recreation and Jake Johnson from New Girl so I was very excited to see them in something other than their widely popular TV shows. Honestly, I expected more from this film. I don’t want to give away any spoilers but with such a great cast I was hoping for a little more excitement. The genre is a romantic comedy which is my personal favorite, but this film had a little Sci-Fi twist to it. I suppose that made it more unique and different but I didn’t care for it. There were a few laughs here and there, a few “awww” moments, but this film did not stand out to me. I thought it was interesting that this was the director, Colin Trevorrow’s, first feature film besides a documentary and a digital short. Overall, I was somewhat disappointed but maybe I just expected too much.

Leave a Reply

