Safe Haven (2013)

images

Directed by Lasse Hallström

Synopsis: The movie is based on the famous novel of Nicholas Sparks. It tells us a story of a young woman, who tries to run away from her abusive husband-cop. She decides to settle down in a small town of Southport where she thinks she could never be found. But she was found by love. When she met a handsome widower with two adorable kids, her heart decides to give love another try and Katie is taking risk to start new relationship without telling the truth about her past.

Review:  I was probably one of the few people who actually read the book before going to see the movie. IMHO the movie fails to generate any chemistry between the lead actors. You get a feeling that Josh Duhamel and Julianne Hough are actually acting in two separate movies at the same time. I have my reservations here though – Julianne looks beautiful (and all adjectives) in every frame of her presence but completely fails to display the emotions demanded by the character ‘Katie’. Her past is never shown to the extent required to sympathize with the trauma she’s supposedly going through. As for Josh Duhamel, I hardly have anything to write – all through the movie he only tries to express something but is often confused what!
Now about the director – Lasse Hallstrom. All the time I was watching the movie the only thing that kept coming to my mind was – Did the director ever read the book? How could he miss to show any sort of real connection (or scariness) between Tierney (played by David Lyons) and Katie? I am sure the ones who didn’t read the book will keep wondering what the heck is David Lyons doing in the movie and the ones who read will be pushed to their limits to associate David Lyons with Tierney.
All in all I guess this is the only book written by Nicholas Sparks that could possibly be easily adapted to a movie. Except for its bits and pieces the movie is poorly executed. But do watch the movie for those bits and pieces, namely – locations, camera work(or what ever that department is called), kids, and lastly the charming Julianne Hough just for her charm and voice!

One response to “Safe Haven (2013)

  1. I loved this movie- Because I am a sucker for sappy love stories and I thought this one was good, with the twist at the end. I never read the book, if I had I would have probably been sorely disappointed. I felt the way you do about this movie with Dear John, and I am drawing a blank here- The newer one that came out… The Vow.

Leave a Reply

