Now You See Me (2013)

By: Chris Kerbo

Director: Louis Leterrier

Synopsis: Now You See Me is a film about 4 magicians who come from all walks of life. They each find whats looks like a tarot card planted on them by a mysterious person. The address on the cards brings them all to the same place. The movie flashes forward, the group of 4 are now called The Four Horsemen and they have a global, televised act performing on television. For this night’s show, they rob a bank in front of a live audience using a “random” audience member’s bank. I don’t want to give too much away, so I will be brief. The group of four continue performing very, very amazing large-scale magic tricks because they are trying to get into an elite group of magicians that protect the world of magic. All of this while they are being heavily pursued by FBI agent Dylan Rhodes and Interpol agent Alma Dray.

Review: I found this movie by accident and I am very glad I did. I had never heard of it prior to last week. I really, really enjoyed it. Going into it, I thought it was going to be a non-fiction thriller involving magic. I quickly learned it definitely has a lot of fiction to it, but it made the movie great. Woody Harrelson and Jesse Eisenberg were great together in Zombieland and they compliment each other this time as well. Morgan Freeman stars as Thaddeus Bradley, an ex-magician who now has a reality show debunking magic tricks.

The magic tricks The Four Horsemen perform are amazing. Well, they aren’t necessarily magic tricks, they are more like very elaborate scam jobs. However, the film definitely hints that they do have some supernatural abilities. I really enjoyed the tension and differences between the four magicians. they each had their own skill set and obviously came from different backgrounds.

There were a few plot holes that I noticed, but nothing major enough to ruin the entire movie. Also, at times, I couldn’t shake a “cheesy” feeling during some of the scenes. That being said, this is definitely a movie I recommend checking out. It kept me entertained the entire time and I did not find myself predicting every second like I usually do with the Thriller genre.

Trailer: This doesn’t seem like it was a terribly popular movie, so here is the trailer if you want to check it out!

Leave a Reply

