The Possession (2012)

Director: Ole Bornedal

Synopsis: The Possession is a horror film about a supernatural possession of a young girl. The film begins with am elderly woman attempting to dispose of a box, but dying before being able to. The box ends up in the hands of Em, a little girl who has convinced her father to buy it for her at a yard sale. Soon after bringing it home, Em begins to hear whispers out of the box and opens it. Inside are several trinkets (rings, tooth, dead moth) that she begins to wear and play with. Em begins acting strange and even violent to a very, very large extent. I will spare the rest of the details as I don’t want to spoil the entire movie, but let’s just say we have a good old fashioned possession on our hands.

Review: I was actually really, really impressed with this film. Going into it I expected yet another low-budget, non-scary exorcism movie that left me wanting more. However, I was pleasantly surprised. While I personally didn’t find the movie “jump out of your seat” scary, it had many moments where it made me feel very…”creeped out”. The very first scene in the movie, with the elderly woman, was a really great way to open the movie. It really set the pacing of the movie, which was surprisingly fast. The cast seemed to be a lot better than you would expect from the usual exorcism films, so that was impressive too.

*SPOILERS* Another thing I really liked was how they chose not to use the typical Catholic possession. At the end of the film, you find out that the demon is actually of Jewish origin, which was new and different and really surprised me. All of the scenes in which the demon acts out through Em are all pretty jarring, I thought. They are very loud, quick and in-your-face actions and that’s exactly what I like in movies of this genre.

 

Leave a Reply

