Ghostbusters

“Ghostbusters” directed by Harold Ramis

 

Not very many movies encapsulat the happiness of my childhood quite like “Ghostbusters.”  To this day, Bill Murray is one of my favorite actors, I seek out anything directed by Harold Ramis and I seize any opportunity to rattle off quotes from this movie.  I had Ghostbusters bed sheets, t-shirts, toys, you name it, I had it.  I named my cat Slimer for goodness sake. For those reasons I relished the opportunity to watch it again for this week’s personal movie review.  “Ghostbusters” taught me a few valuable lessons: first, don’t disturb ghosts – they will get mad at you.  Second, ghosts like to eat hotel room service food.  Third, and most importantly, when someone asks you if you’re a god, you say YES!

“Ghostbusters” is the story of Peter Venkman, Ray Stantz and Egon Spengler, three New York City PhDs working in the field of parapsychology.  They lose their grant to continue working at a university and decide to open their own business as ghost hunters for hire.  (“Don’t worry, Ray, today everyone has three mortgages.”) Their business initially falters, but then hits a big break with their first client Dana Barrett.  She is terrorized in her high-rise apartment by a menacing prehistoric creature growling at her from her refrigerator. Little do the Ghostbusters know, this creature turns out to be the minion of Gozer the Gozerian, an ancient Sumerian god who, with the help of a demon-worshiping architect half a century earlier, had opened up a portal to another dimension right in Dana Barrett’s apartment.  Hilarity and supernatural fun ensue. The good guys eventually prevail over the ghosts of the Big Apple, getting covered in Stay Puft Marshmallow goo along the way, and little boys everywhere jump for joy.  I can’t wait until my baby is old enough to enjoy this gem of a movie as much as I do.  Did I mention my wife’s name is Dana?

 

One response to “Ghostbusters

  1. That’s hilarious. Whats your baby’s name?
    You know I loved this movie too and my son was telling me Ghostbusters 2 is also really good. He thinks it’s even better.

Leave a Reply

