The Lego Movie (2014)

Image

 

Directors: Phil Lord and Christopher Miller

Synopsis: When Emmet, an ordinary Lego construction worker, accidentally finds the piece of resistance, prophesied to stop the evil Lord Business, he is mistakenly seen as the “special”. The master builders come to find that he is just an ordinary mini-figure that has seemingly “lame” ideas. Emmet goes on an adventure to protect the people from the “kragle” and finds along the way that everyone is special in their own way.

Review: This, actually, was not my favorite movie. I thought they tied the story together well and the film definitely was entertaining, but I also felt like I had received a sensory overload (which made me feel like an old person). As an animation film, I was very impressed by all that they accomplished through the movie. As a nanny, there were several scenes that I was irritated by. All I could think was… please do not be teaching kids to be this annoying! But I will hand it to the film team, the animation was spectacular! Their attention to detail amazed me. Every scene was thoughtfully put together and they made the Lego world come to life. 

Leave a Reply

