Tucker & Dale vs. Evil (2010)

dale
Title: Tucker & Dale vs. Evil (2010)

Directed By: Eli Craig

Synopsis: Tucker has spent all his savings purchasing a rundown “fixer-upper” type cabin in the forest of West Virginia. He takes his friend Dale up with him to do a little fishing and to start working on the house. Simultaneously, a group of college kids take a camping trip in the same area. After a misunderstanding Dale and Tucker are attacked by these kids when they believe that Dale and Tucker are murderers.

Review: This has to be the most ridiculous “horror” film I’ve watched. I was told that the movie was not scary but resembled cult classics like The Evil Dead films, and my friends were right. I had a hard time not staring at the screen in awe of the screenplay and the acting of the characters on screen. Normally I really enjoy parody films but there wasn’t much to like in this film other than the title characters. You are shown the villain at the beginning of the film so there is no shocking aspect or terror from suspense. I realize that the acting in parody films are not supposed to be superior, but I think they went way over the top and it was hard to enjoy. Most of the death sequences were predictable. On the other hand my friend who has seen the film multiple times really enjoyed the film. Within the first couple scenes I was done but I tried to give it the benefit of a doubt, but I fear I’ve lost eighty-nine minutes that I will never be able to get back. If this film style is your cup of tea, by all means be my guest. It may also be a good film if you have a few choice drinks in you.

Leave a Reply

