Ginger Snaps (2000)

MV5BMTkzMjE0MDAwOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzIxNjAwMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_

Title: Ginger Snaps (2000)

Directed By: John Fawcett

Synopsis: Ginger and Bridgette are sisters who scare a fascination with death; going so far as to make a pact that they’d die together. They also put a slideshow of “suicide” pictures of themselves together as a class project. A beast is terrorizing the neighborhood, ripping apart dogs and it sends everyone in to worrying about being out late at night. These sisters venture out and soon realize that there are really things that go bump in the night.

Review: One of the strangest movies I’ve seen so far. It was movie night with a friend and I allowed him to choose the film, stupid idea. This movie was so gory and macabre that it was hard to enjoy even one second. The effects were garbage and I think that they did a better job with make-up effects for the two sister’s suicide picture montage than they did on the actual werewolf. Some of the film was so bad that I couldn’t help but giggle at the ridiculousness. The sound effects were way over the top, but when has a horror film not had over the top sound effects? The soundtrack gave it a dark overtone and grungy feel, which are not my favorite genres. They added in songs from bands such as Cradle of Filth and Saliva, bands that I’ve heard a few songs from and have never cared for. I’ve decided not to trust my friend’s choices in films anymore. I’m sure there are people that enjoy these films and if it were closer to Halloween I probably could have gotten into the mood. I think I’ll stick to my Disney films and Musicals. I don’t live feeling depressed after watching films. Films are my escape from reality and I’d rather be entertained and happy than depressed and terrified.

Leave a Reply

