The Talented Mr. Ripley 1999

Directed by Anthony Minghella

Starring Matt Damon, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Jude Law

Set in the 50’s, the movie starts out with Tom Ripley, played by Matt Damon, as he is asked by a rich father to go to Italy and bring back his son for in return for a good sum of money. Tom accepts this job offer and goes to Italy to find Dickie Greenleaf, played by Jude Law, only to discover that he likes his new rich lifestyle and is not sure that he will be able to bring Dickie back to his father. Throughout the movie lives a fairly flamboyant and rich lifestyle and gets into trouble on more than one occasion, including falling in love at least once.

The Talented Mr. Ripley was a satisfactory movie which was enjoyable to watch. I appreciated the fact that I could not see a few of the plot twists that the movie through at me. Many movies are very predictable, but in this case It was not as much. For that reason it was more enjoyable to watch and enthralled me. I enjoy watching films that have the characters in that film act like someone else. In this movie, Tom pretends to be someone else and is fun to see how well he can pull that off. The landscapes that are used are beautiful. Most of it was filmed in Italy, and it is quaint compared to where we live.

Before seeing this movie I had not heard of Anthony Minghella, the director, but seeing this picture I look forward to checking out what other films he has had a hand in making.

Overall a very good movie, it kept me interested throughout it and has a pleasing ending which did not leave me with unanswered questions.

 

2 responses to “The Talented Mr. Ripley 1999

  1. Ahhh, from Dexter to Perfume: A Story of Murder, don’t we all just love our fictional idealistic serial killers?

  2. I have never seen this movie, nor did I know what it is about. After reading your comments, I think I will rent it.

Leave a Reply

