Shutter Island (2010)

Director: Martin Scorsese

Synopsis: Shutter Island is about an investigator, Teddy Daniels (Leonardo DiCaprio), who is sent to an island with his partner, Chuck Aule (Mark Ruffalo), to investigate a sudden disappearance. A woman, Rachel, has escaped from the insane asylum located on the island. While he is at the asylum, Teddy struggles with vivid memories of his late wife, Delores who had recently died in a fire. The story takes a wild twist in events and Teddy ends up discovering the truth after quite some time and we learn the story just might not be what we expected from the beginning.

Review: I really enjoyed this movie. I put off watching it for quite some time, but after I watched it I was so mind-blown. The director adds a huge plot twist that I guarantee threw everyone off the first time they ever watched it. After the secret was revealed, you were able to look back and reflect on what you just learned with what you previously watched and start to make sense of it. Only AFTER you learn the secret, that is. I liked that the movie was so unpredictable, especially nowadays with all the cheesy action/”scary” movies that are being mass-produced by Hollywood. It was like a story, within a story, within a story, since the director had you believing two different scenarios before he revealed the truth. It’s hard to review a lot of this movie without giving too much away, but it is definitely worth seeing if you have not already. Martin Scorsese directs a lot of movies that kind of fall in the same category as this. And he loves using DiCaprio as his number 1 star, since he is in like every movie ever by Scorsese. I once heard that Scorsese doesn’t actually write out a script, but instead a story line. Then he has his actors recreate it on film, basically improving the whole movie. I’m not sure whether or not Shutter Island was filmed this way, but either way, it’s pretty cool.

2 responses to “Shutter Island (2010)

  1. Took me a while to get that movie, then like a few days later I found my self picking it apart. Saw it again about 3 or 4 months ago and was like, damn man, this is a fantastic movie. Gotta love the layers.

  2. I have never seen a film of Scorsese that I didn’t like. He is good at making films that it takes awhile before you get it. I have heard good reviews about this movie. I guess it is time to watch it!

Leave a Reply

