Lone Survivor (2013)

Director- Peter Berg

Synopsis- Lone Survivor is about a group of four Navy Seals that are on a mission to assassinate the Taliban leader, Ahmad Shah. The group is separated from the rest, and now must fight for their lives for they are outnumbered and outweaponed against the other soldiers. As the title suggests, not everyone makes it and the lone survivor is now forced to live with memories of what happened, by himself.

Review- I really enjoyed this movie. To be honest, like most movies, I put off watching this one because it’s not necessarily in my selected movie genres, but figured I should watch it since it was based on a true story and all. I was surprised. Obviously, I’m not all gung-ho about super gory, super weapon-y, bloody, action movies. But this one was different because it was a an actual story that happened to an actual person. Too often these days we see movies that are all hyped up and generated to appear realistic, even when everybody is totally aware of how things would really go if in the real world. I think that’s why I liked this movie. It was an “in your face” actual real film that was explaining real events. Also, I don’t know if anyone else is aware of this, but I learned that Marcus Luttrell (the ACTUAL lone survivor) was featured briefly in the film. I’m not saying example supports why this movie seems more realistic, but it sure didn’t hurt it. Peter Berg generally has pretty interesting story ideas, so I usually end up liking the movies he directs. Needless to say, despite all the gory grossness, I would continuously watch this movie.

Leave a Reply

