Week 1: “IN A WORLD…” One Student

…Is introduced to blogging, by introducing herself… IN A BLOG.

(Ok, Normal voice.) Hi. I’m Heather. I love film… A lot. And obviously, also kind of a dork.

Dorkiness aside, I’m really looking forward getting a little closer to understanding why people watch what they do. Entertainment is a personal thing you really can’t argue with. We are who we are, we love what we love and we have varying levels of comfort and trust in what’s available for our entertainment. I’m on a bit of a mission to explore that.

My hope for this short quarter is to come away with a more robust knowledge of film, maybe a broadened repertoire and appreciation for some things that may have flown right over my head (oww, watch it) on the way to Fellini’s for dinner and absinthe. (I can’t contain this stuff. I’d bore myself.)

So, this is where I stand on the subject of film…

We are inundated. There’s just too much being pumped out, and a lot of it’s really bad. I’m picky about what I watch. I look for intelligent scripts, acting that’s not canned, and directors who make me forget about the Hollywood cash monster. There are too many possibilities and there’s too little time to waste watching something I’ve seen done a million times before. I don’t want to zone out. Move me. Make me think. Tell me a story in an original way. And please, make me laugh, but don’t insult my intelligence. I’m not pompous. I like Zach Galifinakus. Notice he doesn’t tell jokes, though. He’s just a total freak. I can get behind that. Be willing to be completely alone in your vision, and chances are I’ll appreciate it.

Rediscovering any long lost childhood appreciation for Walt Disney is doubtful, but It sure seems to be going around. I was actually considering watching Frozen because it got rave reviews from my sister, but it’s $20 on Amazon. What is that about? I’ll go ahead and take a big fat pass on that one.

I had a very early appreciation for trippy movies. I remember seeing Terry Gilliam’s “Time Bandits” at the drive- in with my dad, when I was like eight. Now that I think about it, that was a questionable choice on my dad’s part, but I loved how weird it was. I still love Terry Gilliam. For those who don’t know, he’s a director who’s been a part of Monty Python. I believe he started out storyboarding. He’s responsible for those intentionally ridiculous animations in Monty Python and the Flying Circus. He’s a very passionate kook, and I love that in a person. Passionate kooks turn out most of my favorite stuff, movies or otherwise.

I’m looking forward to exploring some great films and learning not just about film itself, but the people that watch them. Why do we watch what we watch? Very cool list of films to cover, compiled by a delightful instructor we will only ever see on screen. Which I guess is kind of fitting?

Maybe I can have a burning question of mine answered here. I might as well give it a shot. It’s nothing deep, by any stretch. It’s more like a silly case study I’ve been wanting to do that for some reason holds some kind of significance for me. For those of you either too young to know who John Hughes is, or maybe you just missed 80’s pop culture, there is this aching curiosity I’ve been toting around for a while. I’m really curious about whether or not his films will appeal to you, or if you’d just think they’re lame. My theory is, you had to be there. (The 80’s). But I’m not 100% positive about that. What I will say is this. This man bottled the 80s. He branded and “Brat Packed” it. Some of his movies are: The Breakfast Club, Say Anything, Sixteen Candles, Pretty in Pink, and Ferris Beuller’s Day off. He created the iconic scene in Say Anything, where John Cuesack is standing under Ione Sky’s window in the rain, holding up a five hundred pound boombox, blasting the song, In Your Eyes, by Peter Gabriel. I’m a child of the 80’s and I can pretty much quote the entire Breakfast Club movie by heart. If you haven’t seen any of these movies, please do. And if you actually do, please tell me, did you like them? One? A couple? None? Lame? Ok. That’s fair. I just want to know what younger generations think about John Hughes films. That’s all. Is anyone out there willing to help quench this burning curiosity of mine?

Looking forward to some great reviews.

Cheers, all.

Heather

Leave a Reply

