The Tree of Life (2011)

tree_of_life_2-650x320

 

Drama/139 minutes

Directed by- Terrence Malick

The Tree of Life focuses on some complex memories of the main characters life. The main character, Jack goes back to his childhood throughout and awakens thoughts he may have suppressed. This movie gives off many intense feelings to relate to on many levels. The movie was very enlightening as to how big of an impact your past can have on your future. Also, this is a movie of self discovery.The cinematography was amazing. Unlike many movie I have seen, this movie was able to manipulate the way I felt regardless of words. The lighting and surreal scenes kept my mind in a dreamy state, and I loved it. I was very emotionally inclined to keep watching because of the abstract personality of each scene. I notices a little hard lighting, but mainly soft lighting. I really cant pick a favorite shot, there were so many. Mainly, every shot with Jack’s Mother got to me on a personal level. The scenes with her were truly beautiful. At times, it was hard for me to watch the scenes referring to the relationship with the father, but watching their mother always brought a smile to my face, and warmth to my thoughts. I love this movie and will suggest it to my friends and such. Highly recommended for a deep night.

Leave a Reply

